38th IATO Annual Convention to focus on ‘Inbound Tourism and Emerging Sustainable Trends’

15 states expected to participate, says IATO



September 13, 2023

/ By / New Delhi

38th IATO Annual Convention to focus on ‘Inbound Tourism and Emerging Sustainable Trends’

IATO says that its Annual convention attracts over 900 delegates each year

The 38th IATO Annual Convention, which will be held from September 29 to October 2 at Aurangabad in Maharashtra, about 15 states are expected to mark their presence.

Rate this post

With the theme of Inbound Tourism and Emerging Sustainable Trends, the 38th IATO Annual Convention will be held from September 29 to October 2 at Aurangabad in Maharashtra, says  Indian Association of Tour Operators (IATO) President Rajiv Mehra.

Mehra says that Chief Minister of Maharashtra Eknath Shinde will inaugurate the function and among others attending will be Devendra Fadnavis, Deputy Chief Minister of Maharashtra, Girish Dattatray Mahajan, Minister of Tourism, Govt of Maharashtra, Ambadas Eknathrao Danve, Leader of Opposition and senior officials from the Ministry of Tourism of the government of India and government of Maharashtra.

Mehra says that many state tourism departments will also be present as about 15 states are expected to participate in the convention. Ajit Pawar, Deputy Chief Minister, will join for the Valedictory session on October 1.

IATO says that its Annual convention is regarded as one of the most important events on the Indian tourism calendar and attracts over 900 delegates each year. 

Mehra says that various post-convention tours and spouse tours have been arranged for the delegates to showcase Maharashtra which will include visit to Ajanta and Ellora Caves, Shirdi, Grishneshwar Jyotirlinga Temple, Lonar Crater, Shani Shingnapur Temple, Trimbakeshwar Temple and Sula Vineyards.

He adds that this will help the members who have not seen these places to include them in their itinerary and promote in domestic and international markets.

“We have an overwhelming response from the members and we expect about 900-1,000 delegates from all over the country to participate which will include senior officials from the Ministry of Tourism, Government of India and States, industry leaders, tourism and hospitality professionals, travel trade media. There are five post convention tours being organised on various sectors as has already been informed.   This year also we expect larger participation from the state Government as every state is keen to reinstate inbound tourism to their respective states,” he says. 

“Last year we had participation from 18 states. During the three days convention there will be deliberations on burning issues during the business sessions being finalised and we will have experts in all fields. During the convention IATO is also organising a Marketing Innovation Competition. The main aim of the Marketing Innovation Competition is to encourage creativity and quality of  Video CDs, posters and brochures to the State Governments, tour operators, hotels and travel media.  The awards are to honour outstanding work giving due importance to creativity, thus giving recognition to designers and producers,” says Rajnish Kaistha, Senior Vice President and Chairman of the convention.

“Besides the serious discussions during the business sessions, we will have IATO Run for Responsible Tourism on October 1 and awards would be given in various categories to the winners and runners up. Also we will have evening entertainment programmes on all three days  and delegates will enjoy taking time off from their busy schedule throughout the year. During the convention, IATO is also organising Indian Tourism Fair (Travel Mart) on September 30 and October 1 which will give an opportunity for our members to interact with the state tourism department and other stakeholders who are exhibiting to interact with each other and promote tourism,” says Sanjay Razdan,  Honorary Secretary and Co-Chairman of the Convention.



    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *